OUT AND ABOUT

Zippers are Really Retro

with one comment

zipper fly Every time I opened the fly of my jeans today, I was startled.

No, this is not the kind of opening sentence that leads into an article full of sexual allusions or erotic fantasies.

It’s something much more profane that I noticed today.

Every time I opened the fly of my new jeans today, I was startled by the fact that these jeans don’t have a button fly, but a zipper instead. These must be the first jeans I’ve owned in almost 20 years with a zipper fly.

Those of you who also own both kinds of pants probably know what I’m getting at: there’s a difference in how you open a zipper fly and how you open a button fly. So out of old habit, I’d rip at the fabric of my jeans every time I went to the bathroom today, expecting the buttons to plop-plop-plop open.

But with a zipper, ripping at the two sides of your fly won’t do a thing for you. Except maybe destroy your zipper or your jeans.

Wearing my new jeans today, it always took me a brief moment to realize that these jeans were different from what I’d gotten used to over the past two decades: they had a zipper-fly instead of a button-fly.

So if a button-fly is what’s normal for us now, is a zipper-fly the real retro?zipper-fly jeans

Written by Thorsten

May 14, 2008 at 9:59 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just think of all the time you’re going to save now that you’ve gone retro—no more messing with that pesky bottom button! And I wonder, if zippers are retro, will a Velcro fly sewn into our jeans be found somewhere in our future?

    (Thanks for the funny post!)

    thefishhusband

    May 15, 2008 at 8:45 am


Leave a Reply

