OUT AND ABOUT

Why I Love Little old Ladies

with 2 comments

I got my hair cut today, and just as I stepped out the door of the store, a little old lady walked by on the sidewalk with her lapdog.

My opening the door and stepping out of the barbershop rather quickly must have startled the dog.

Maybe it was just surprised to see that humans can move at a faster pace than its owner and her peer group.

“My little mouse…”

So the lady bends down to her startled dog and says in the sweetest Cologne dialect: “Keine Angst, mein Mäuschen, der tut dir nichts. Der ist nur so stürmisch!” (“Don’t be frightened, my little mouse. He won’t hurt you. He’s just tempestuous!”)

Or was she actually talking to me and describing her dog?

Written by Thorsten

May 21, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Posted in observations

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha! I love little old ladies too, ESPECIALLY this one, she sounds fantastic. I once had a little old lady French teacher also with a mouse-sized lapdog. She would always call me “ma petite puce” (“my little flea). I think it was a term of endearment…?!

    ithinkitllbefine

    May 23, 2008 at 5:38 am

  2. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Entail
    .

    Entail

    June 18, 2008 at 9:54 pm


Leave a Reply

