OUT AND ABOUT

Lifestyles of the rich and famous on a budget

with 4 comments

One of the nice things about being in Asia is that prices are so much lower here than at home.

You can treat yourself to a really nice hotel, to great restaurants and all sorts of other luxurious indulgences that won’t bust your vacation budget.

Want massage?

Of course, one of the big things here in Thailand are massages.

Wherever you go, you’ll hear someone asking “Mister, want massage?”

And depending on the neighbourhood, you can get a massage for just about any part of your body that you can imagine…

But that whole scene is actually pretty depressing and not what I’d want to support in Thailand.

Taking a Takashi in Thailand

What I tried instead, was something a little more sophisticated: a Takashi facial massage.

This Japanese chain has just opened a new, luxurious branch in one of the downtown shopping centers here.

And they have great opening bargains that I just couldn’t pass by…

The equivalent of six Euros bought me 45 minutes of what it must feel like to be Brad Pitt. Or Madonna. Or whoever else regularly has their face cleansed, creamed and caressed professionally.

According to the Takashi flier, the treatment I got consisted of

  • Complete cleansing
  • Steaming / removing blackheads and impurities
  • Massage in Takashi style
  • Nourishing treatment

I have no idea whether all of these were actually performed on me because I had my eyes closed and just gave in to the pampering. Whatever it all was, it was very enjoyable.

I noticed that the lady who was in charge of my face spent a lot of time massaging my chin and cheeks during my treatment.

I don’t know if that’s always part of the deal.

But my suspicion was that the lady may have found the fact interesting that I have a beard and most of her Asian customers don’t.

Generally speaking, I was extremely surprised how many men were in that place getting facial treatments.

And they weren’t the “pretty boys” or particularly effeminate types.

From what I could see, most of them were just average guys. Sort of like “Joe the Plumber” enjoying a facial massage.

I guess we guys have come a long way since the days of Old Spice and Aqua Velva.

Written by Thorsten

October 29, 2008 at 6:31 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m envious. Beauty farms and beauty temples are so expensive here. So: enjoy. Greetings to Thailand. (And thanks for your wishes.)

    april

    October 29, 2008 at 10:48 pm

  2. […] Lifestyles of the rich and famous on a budget […]

  3. i just had one of these facials – they were awesome! thanks for the blog post!

    natalie

    April 15, 2009 at 5:38 am

    • glad you liked it (both the facial and the blog post 😉

      Thorsten

      April 16, 2009 at 9:49 am


Leave a Reply

