OUT AND ABOUT

Lifestyles of the rich – revisited

with 3 comments

It’s another rainy day on Phuket today, so what can you do but go to the mall? I went back to the shopping center where I’d gotten the facial massage the other day.

Maybe a little pampering would help save the day…

At the mall, I noticed that there was a second day spa right across from Takashi, where I’d gotten my first massage. Surprisingly, they were also from Tokyo, looked almost the same, and had almost the same kind of special offers.

Rivalling cosmetics clans? Feuding families? Estranged lovers gone out to really give it to each other in the business world?

Or is Tokyo just the place for day spas and facial massages?

This spa, HANAKO TOKYO, offered a facial massage at 300 Thai baht – about six Euros. And their offer even included a facial mask and a head and shoulder massage.

Cleansing, creaming and caressing

It’s hard to describe what the nice lady who was in charge of me did to my face. One reason is that I had my eyes closed most of the time. The other reason is that she didn’t explain what she did, she just went ahead and did what she felt necessary.

First, she spread some kind of cream on my face and massaged it in ever so gently. Next came moist, warm towels or washcloths, with which she covered and cleaned my face.

She put moist cotton swabs on my eyes and left them there. Then she took a spatula and applied a facial mask.

It smelled a little like apples and felt like cold Elmer’s glue on my skin.

When she’d covered my whole face, she used a fan to gently help dry the mask. The breeze felt very cool on my face. Every now and then, she then gently tapped her finger to my foreskin to see whether the mask had hardened yet.

It seemed to take longer than anticipated

She left me lying there for what felt like 10 or 15 minutes. Nothing happened and I was afraid I’d fall asleep.

You wouldn’t want to start snoring or drooling in a place like that…

At some point, the lady decided that my facial mask had dried enough and she began to peel it off like Saran wrap off a freshly cut peach.

The feeling was a little unusual but nice. All of a sudden, the skin on my face felt like it could breathe again.

I guess the nice lady then applied more creams, spread more lotions on my skin and gently removed them again with warm moist wash cloths. But I lost track of what she did.

Whatever it was, it was extremely pleasant and relaxing.

When I looked in the mirror after my treatment, I felt like ca. 1998.

Written by Thorsten

October 30, 2008 at 2:30 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That looks SO fun! I didn’t get to get a facial when I was there, but did get a 2 hour massage for something like $12USD. I felt like gumby after and it was great!

    angelinaaahh

    October 30, 2008 at 3:40 pm

  2. .. thorsten, not 1998, you look like 1988! thinking about a hair colouration? (…argh..so envious.. )

    birgit.

    October 31, 2008 at 2:34 pm

  3. That does look amazing!

    Kelly

    November 14, 2008 at 5:33 pm


Leave a Reply

