OUT AND ABOUT

Where were you when Michael Jackson died?

with 7 comments

Foto: tipoyock/Flickr

Foto: tipoyock/Flickr

In every generation, there’s one momentous event that’s etched in people’s memory.

Everybody who witnessed it remembers where they were when they found out that President Kennedy had been shot.

Everyone remembers where and how they watched Neil Armstrong set foot on the moon.

All Germans who were alive twenty years ago remember exactly how they felt when they first heard the Berlin wall had come down.

A decade later, the death of Princess Diana was another such significant event. And then there was September 11th.

What were you doing when you heard the news?

Those who witnessed these events probably remember to this day what they were doing when they heard the news.

Will Michael Jackson’s death on Thursday, June 25, 2009 turn out to have the same impact?

Will we remember ten years from now how we found out that the ‘Kind of Pop’ had died?

In case I forget: I was in the kitchen having breakfast.

Written by Thorsten

June 26, 2009 at 12:03 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] It comes as I reflect on what one of my mentors told me once when  I off-handedly asked how he was doing. He replied, “You know, I used to go to lots of weddings. Now all I do is attend funerals. My friends are leaving me, one by one”. Michael Jackson is metaphor for people passing away before their time. […]

  2. They say you will always remember where you were and what you were doing when someone of great importance dies.

    Well I was sitting at my computer about to respond to a CNN “Cafferty file” question about taxes w regards to health care.

    The comment section was closed, so I accessed their “contact” and submitted my comments there. The screen that came up next said “Breaking News” and reported that Michael Jackson had a cardiac arrest. I immediately switched my television channel to CNN and called my friend Darlene. She stumbled over her words in disbelief, shock and concern.

    Shortly thereafter, CNN announced that Michael Jackson had passed. The phone calling to friends and family began … and there were mixed reactions, from outbursts of tears to denial and some totally heartbroken.

    After speaking to some friends, a severe thunderstorm erupted in the area where I live, and reluctantly, I turned off my computer and television, though just in time, because the electrical power shortly after was knocked out.

    The news of Michael’s death did not bring tears last night, just a strange feeling that I couldn’t put my finger on. I hadn’t thought about Michael in over a year or so and since I watch a lot of politically oriented news, I didn’t see any stories about him.

    Later that evening (around 10:25pm), while I was on my cell phone talking to my Mom, the power was restored. When I turned on the television, the news media was still talking about Michael, showing his videos and playing his music. It was then that I truly got a sense of how deeply Michael Jackson was loved and had impacted the entire world.

    Michael was bigger than life … yes, he was an icon.

    This morning the tears flowed and I feel a great sense of loss.

    Each morning I go through a routine … checking my website, blogs and emails, etc. etc. I don’t want to deal with any of that today. I simply want to share this day with Michael’s countless fans across the world, remembering the Michael Jackson we knew and loved and still love.

    Words cannot adequately express what Michael Jackson, the multi-talented genius, innovative artist, and very shy and gracious man-child, means to me and many others.

    I/we love you and you will be greatly missed. Thank you for leaving us a legacy of moving, captivating songs and visual artistry.

    Farewell, … peace be with you.

    My comments were posted at: http://clevelandssecretclub.blogspot.com/2009/06/thoughts-off-cuff-peace-be-with-you.html

    Elaine

    June 26, 2009 at 8:34 pm

  3. Yes that´s THE question…to all those 25-45 Year old people… we collect all answers and hope lots of People will join, because this site ist only for the King of Pop and your feelings: wwywmjd . com
    I was on my way home, when my girl called and it took a while to go on riding…he was my soundtrack for a decade.
    Cornelius

    Corn Elius

    June 29, 2009 at 7:05 pm

  4. I remember that the news of Lady Di’s fatal accident woke me up in the morning on my radio-alarm.

    I remember that on 9/11 I was sitting in a train from Marburg to Bonn, which is one of the strangest trains I ever took, because it rides through… pretty much the middle of nowhere, and I felt pretty safe, that no terrorist would ever think of attacking HERE.

    But honestly… I forgot already where I was, when MJ died. Maybe I just read it the next morning in the online-news.

    David

    June 30, 2009 at 11:05 am

  5. In Reykjavik, sitting at my desk near the window. It was still light outside this late in the evening, around 11 pm maybe…I sat there for at least 2 hours after the news were confirmed…not because I was mourning Michael Jackson, but because I decided to be nice and write a radio piece for ZPR ( I knew that the colleagues of the late shift would already be in bed, the US correspondent on vacation and that the piece would be needed in the morning). That’s what happens when you’re far away from work in Iceland with a two hour time difference. 😉

    Susanne

    July 1, 2009 at 11:30 pm

  6. I went to bed early that Thursday night, because I was planning a big 10 hour trip to Western Uganda for some Gorilla-Trekking.

    My driver and guide Ronny told me about MJ’s death as he picked me up the next morning at 7am. He said he had browsed the internet all night and hardly got any sleep – I was baffled by the news, but I was actually more worried about hopping into a car for a massive drive with someone who hadn’t slept all night…

    Barbara

    July 5, 2009 at 7:31 pm

  7. I was sleeping. I like this ‘memory-grabber’ post.

    Thanks Thorsten for the witty post which will really work and will stand strong after ten years.

    Taufique

    Taufique

    July 21, 2009 at 12:23 pm


Leave a Reply

