OUT AND ABOUT

Bonn freezes over

with 6 comments

It’s unusually cold in Bonn, Germany. The streets are icy and the ground is covered with snow.

The weather man says that temperatures aren’t about to change soon.

This cold spell is unusual here in the Rhineland, where temperatures hardly ever drop significantly below freezing.

Cities like Bonn, Cologne or Düsseldorf don’t see much snow during an average winter. But for the past couple of days and weeks, we’ve had some pretty icy conditions here.

Doesn’t really look like global warming when I look out my office window.

Update, Thurday January 7, 2010 – My colleague Guy Degen just posted a video showing how the snow is piling up in Bonn this morning.

Written by Thorsten

January 5, 2010 at 11:41 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Whoa that place looks totally different! Makes me think: have I really been there before?

    Had it not been for those familiar-looking buildings, I would not have thought that it’s good ole’ Bonn that I’m looking at.

    ljubomirgatdula

    January 5, 2010 at 3:16 pm

  2. So nice and peaceful…

    gabacha

    January 6, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    • yes, it does look very tranquil, doesn’t it. I guess this was just a quiet part of a quiet town on a quiet day…

      Thorsten

      January 6, 2010 at 9:09 pm

  3. Speechless to comment on the fact that I’ve been there without the snowy surroundings! Nice video-shooting by Kodak…

    The post took me back to Bonn days…

    Taufique Ahmed

    January 7, 2010 at 8:15 am

    • wish I had a camera right now to update the video: it’s snowing heavily out there…

      Thorsten

      January 7, 2010 at 10:41 am

  4. Oh, I love this! 🙂

    kk

    May 1, 2010 at 3:58 pm


Leave a Reply

